Prof. Dr. phil. habil. Hartmut Lutz, FRSC

Professor im Ruhestand

Ernst-Lohmeyer-Platz 3
17489 Greifswald

Telefon +49 3834 420 3351 (Sekretariat)


  • 1945: geboren in Rendsburg
  • 02/1969: Abschluss als Volksschullehrer (alle Fächer, Klassen 1-9) an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Kiel
  • 05/1969: Realschulfakultas Englisch an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Kiel
  • 1975: Promotion zum Dr. phil (magna cum laude) in "englischer Literatur" an der Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen
  • 1982: Habilitation (Dr. phil. habil.) in "Anglistik/Amerikanistik" an der Universität Osnabrück
  • 1994-2011: Professor für amerikanische und kanadische Literatur und Kultur

Until his retirement in 2011 Hartmut Lutz taught North American Literatures and Cultures at U of Greifswald, Germany. His doctorate at U of Tübingen in 1973 was on psychoanalysis and literature, William Goldings Prosawerk (1975), his habilitation at U of Osnabrück in 1983 on Indian stereotyping in U.S. and German cultures, "Indianer" und "Native Americans": Zur sozial- und literaturhistorischen Vermittlung eines Stereotyps (1985). 

Books include: D-Q University (Davis, Ca. 1980), Achte Deines Bruders Traum! (1987, 1997), Minority Literatures in North America (1989); Contemporary Challenges (Saskatoon, 1991), Approaches (2002), Connections (Delhi 2003), The Diary of Abraham Ulrikab (Ottawa, 2005), Howard Adams ‘Otapaway’ (Saskatoon, 2005), What Is Your Place? (2007), Canada in Grainau (2009), Heute sind wir hier/We Are Here Today, (2009), Despite Harper (2014), Johan Adrian Jacobsen’s Voyage With the Labrador Eskimos 1880-1881 (Gatineau 2014), and Indianthusiasm: Indigenous Responses (Waterloo, 2020). Lutz founded the OBEMA-series, which published twice a year bilingual editions of works by Minority authors (1989-1998).

He taught at universities of Cologne, Osnabrück, Greifswald and Szczecin (Poland), and at Native Studies programs in North Amerca including UC Davis, Dartmouth College, and Saskatchewan Indian Federated College. Guest professorships took him to Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Poland, Romania, and Spain. He received Fulbright-, ACLS-, DAAD- and ICCS-fellowships, the Harris Chair (Dartmouth College), the Canadian Government’s 2003 John G. Diefenbaker Award (Ottawa U), the 2012/13 Killam Visiting Fellowship at U of Calgary, and a 2013 ICCS “Certificate of Merit, in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development of Canadian Studies.”

On November 19th, 2021, he was inducted International Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.